A New Year, A New You?

It’s a brand new year, a clean slate, a fresh start and time for new year’s resolutions.  I have to be honest and say that I am not particularly fond of this ritual.  I feel that each January we think back on all of the negatives of the previous year, we focus on what we did wrong rather than right and we make a pact with ourselves that this year will be different.  I’m not denying that I make them, I do, I want to exercise more, eat better, spend more time with family, friends and my husband blah, blah, blah.  But rather than focus on how imperfect each year turned out to be, how about focusing on how to further maximize all of the positives of the previous year!  The traditional dropping of the glittery ball in Times Square signals the start of the new year, but for me sensing the need for change and really visualizing what that means for me, was what prepared me for the start of this new year.

I am a Mom to an almost 4 and almost 2 year old and I commute to Boston 3-4 days per week where I am away nearly 10-12 hours each day.  Needless to say, my focus has been survival for the last couple of years.  Now that the boys are getting older and I’m settling into my roll as a working mom, it feels like the right time to put the focus back on other areas of my life.  I feel ready and open to put more focus on me.  It feels like a new phase is developing and I’m accepting and excited to see it through.  Recognizing that need, going with it, letting it happen, that inspires me!

It’s difficult as working moms to think about putting anything ahead of our children, aren’t we already leaving each day and heading off to work, how could we think about adding even more to that already overfilled plate?  Because it’s necessary and healthy.  I am really excited for 2015. I will be celebrating a decade of marriage, turning 35, by making the finals to the Disney Parks Moms Panel last year, I have a Fastpass to Round 2 of the search this year, my grandmother turns 90 and I already have 2 amazing trips planned!  For some reason, this year doesn’t feel forced or overwhelming, it feels like a natural transition, and I’m loving it!

I encourage all my mama friends to do what feels right and what makes you happy in the new year.  I don’t think we always need to strive for life altering goals and aspirations, sometimes just to really live in the moment and let your life play out is an adventure too, at some point you have to stop and take a moment to enjoy where life has brought you.  Focus on your authentic self and what feels right for you and your family.  When unexpected twists arise on the road of life, I challenge you all to not be afraid to acknowledge them, embrace them and prepare to change the course.  Sometimes things not going the way we want is exactly what we need!  So wherever you are now, ready to start a new adventure or just taking an opportunity to really be where you are, I wish you happiness and love.  Have an amazing year!

~ Becky

 

2015/01/img_4339.png Photo courtesy if http://www.wdwinfo.com

Leave a Reply

