Round 2, here I come!

Disney Parks Moms Panel

Congratulations!

Mickey Mouse once said, “Everybody neat and pretty? Then on with the show!”

Nearly 60 years after he said that, I have the honor of paraphrasing my favorite Mouse as I exclaim, “Everybody neat and pretty? Then on… to Round 2 of the Disney Parks Moms Panel Search!

On behalf of Disney Parks, I have the pleasure of inviting you to Round 2 of the 2015 Disney Parks Moms Panel Search. From the thousands of applications reviewed by the Search Committee, yours was selected to move to the next level. There were many tough decisions made during the reviews. I salute everyone who entered Round 1, including those who unfortunately did not advance. We are so very fortunate to have such wonderful Guests.

Now, we’d love to learn even more about you!

Walt Disney once said, “I reject luck – I feel a person creates his/her own ‘determinism’ by discovering best aptitudes and following them undeviatingly.”

Those words can certainly apply to the Disney Parks Moms Panel Search. So now that you’ve created your own “determinism,” here’s what’s next:

Shocked. Surprised. Honored. Amazed. All the feelings that went through my head when I received my “congratulations” email from Gary himself! Yes, you heard correctly! After a long 6 weeks in the “waiting room”, I am moving on to round 2 of the Disney Parks Moms Panel Search for 2015! This past month has been nerve-wracking, but incredibly fun! There have been nonstop Twitter updates from Gary, an amazing group of MP hopefuls on Facebook, as well as some really special friends and family chEARing me on. The MP hopefuls have been unwaveringly supportive and encouraging, it’s truly the friendliest competition I have ever been a part of. It really speaks to the true spirit of Disney and its overall mission to see such positivity in action. Despite the large number of applicants and the small number of panelists chosen, I have seen absolutely nothing but pixie dust and happiness. Truth be told, I would have been sad if my ride ended at Round 1, now I just feel honored. So many talented and knowledgeable people did not move on, that I feel a strong obligation to represent them as well as myself in round 2. Tomorrow at noon, the essay questions and video criteria will be revealed, and we’ll have 6 days to make everything “neat and pretty.” It’s important to me that I remain true to my authentic self as I try my hardest to answer questions as accurately and thoughtfully as I can. As I have said previously, it remains to be seen if I have what the judging panel is looking for in this year’s group, but boy will I have fun giving it all I’ve got!
“The moment you doubt whether you can fly, you cease forever to be able to do it” JM Barrie, Peter Pan

Never give up, and never grow up!

Becky

Leave a Reply

